What happens when you combine school choice with bad teachers and staff?

January 19, 2007

For more on why teacher quality is what matters most, consider the Jan./Feb. Atlantic Monthly story on New Orleans schools. Reading, Writing, Resurrection, by Amy Waldman gives us a glimpse at the charter school revolution in that city. Much of what is going on is good: schools are freed of bureaucratic restrictions, school leaders can hire and fire their staff, district-wide open enrollment helps overcome residential segregation by allowing kids to go to any school in the city . . . . But, it turns out there are not anywhere near the number of decent teachers (or principals, counselors, etc.) to make the schools work. The result is a disaster. As Waldman writes,

But human capital, on many levels, was complicating Huger’s experiment. Brand-new, and filled with children from across the city, Lafayette Academy had neither history nor community to draw on. The principal seemed unhappy, the chief administrative officer tentative, and the lines of authority between them unclear. Two teachers had already quit by mid-October. And on the third floor, home to the unruly sixth and seventh grades, staff morale was sagging. The older children had come up through a school system that combined social promotion with an absence of socialization. Some of their teachers, in turn, had little or no urban teaching experience. The result was an endless clash of wills between students and staff, and what teachers described as a profound lack of respect. Nothing worked—not lectures, not phone calls to parents (themselves often indifferent), not detention.

Post-Katrina New Orleans reinforces the key point: Until we solve the human capital issues in schools, improvements will be marginal at best.

40 Responses to “What happens when you combine school choice with bad teachers and staff?”

  1. bart Says:

    So how much is this about good teachers (eg people who have a knack for the job) vs teacher training?

  2. James Says:

    This is a very hard question. There is tons of research suggesting that teacher quality is the most important schooling factor affecting educational outcomes, but there is much less proven on what makes a good teacher. As in other fields, some of it is innate, some learned. My own view is that good teacher training programs before entering the profession, along with robust on the job professional development, can have a significant impact on teacher quality. But too few teacher training programs are any good, and too few school systems have high quality professional development strategies.

  3. Katie Says:

    The majority of research out there on the efficacy of teacher training shows that it has basically no impact on student achievement (at least as measured by test scores). However, most teacher training out there now is minimal (a few hours a month, every couple years), so it may be that there is hope with more intensive training. However, the number one indicator of a teacher’s future success (as measured by student outcome) is the teacher’s college test scores (GPA/SAT), followed by the quality of their undergraduate institution. That being said, these factors are frequently ignored or given minimal weight in the hiring process.


  4. […] 2nd, 2007 I have talked before (here and here) about the limits of any school reform that does not dramatically improve the quality of […]

  5. Roni Lacy Says:

    What has happened to our education system? As parents how to we fight a loosing battle when our kids end up with a teacher with no compasion and no understanding for the students? Teaching can not be thought of as just a job, or just a paycheck. teachers have such a huge influence over our children. They try to mold our children into what they belive is propper or normal so to speak. So if our kids happen to get a teacher who has never had their own children or who has never had the bond with a child the way that a parent does, how do we know if while our children are in their care, that they are being heard, understood and most of all treated with the respect that they deserve in order for their enviroment to be the best it can be for the children to acheive and succeed? The way we know is simple. Our childrens behaviour tells all. Many many children are dianosed with ADD Disorder because of their behaviour at school in the class room. Like I said, teachers have a huge impact on our childrens behaviour. Sometimes when children are in a negative atmosphere, or made to feel as though they are a problem child, they will react on this and behave worse. If a child calls out the answer with out raising his hand, does this child have behaviour problems? or is this child feeling confident that he knows the answer and wants to be first at responding? who decides?? Again the teacher has control over this. We have many many wonderful and amazing teachers who make such a positive impact on our children because of their compassion for teaching and their understanding and patience for the children. When our children have a teacher like this, he or she will excell and succeed. He or She will have a positive attitude about school and will enjoy learning.Unfortunatley not all teachers will be this way. So what happens when your child has the other kind of teacher I have talked about and we as parrents begin noticeing the behaviour change? accademics begin to slip and your child has been labelled as a problem child, yet at home your child is fine. Who do you turn to? Who will listen? and who will make a difference.Not all children have ADD disorder, many are mis diagnosed because of the teachers lack of skill when it comes to communication with the children. Have you been through this??

  6. Natalie Says:

    I’m currently dealing with this at the moment and I have come here to read, understand and hope to do something to better my childs low self esteem and confidence back to where it once was.


  7. excellent post Here’s some pass forward: Thought for the day? : It is easier to get forgiveness than permission.


  8. Owning coach for cheap which well-known celebrities have surely makes a woman really feel confident, alluring and sexy.


  9. The Golden Age of Real Estate Search by Joel Burslem at 1000Watt Consulting

  10. Sam Says:

    Or so angry you could spit. Have you ever recycled a Holiday present.
    For many reasons this group are the ones that eat of out
    boxes and bags.

  11. Yvette Says:

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it
    much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Exceptional work!


  12. Hi there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m
    undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to
    new posts.


  13. What’s up, I would like to subscribe for this blog to take newest updates, thus where can i do it please help out.

  14. Verna Says:

    Now then from Leeds! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your blog on my samsung during my afternoon break. I really like the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyways, wonderful blog!

  15. Susanne Says:

    We turned on the wireless connection on both and checked that they
    could connect to the internet and worked at a decent
    pace. These tablets are frequently over the a hundred and fifty mark but offer you
    a considerably broader and longer lasting expertise.
    They only need to spend more affordable value for the technologies meanwhile they can get the exact same satisfaction
    as when they use i – Pad.


  16. I used to be able to find good advice from
    your content.


  17. I will immediately take hold of your rss feed as I
    can not to find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or
    newsletter service. Do you have any? Please
    permit me understand so that I may subscribe. Thanks.


  18. We turned on the wireless connection on both and
    checked that they could connect to the internet and worked at a decent
    pace. There are many new applications available for you to download
    within the market. This tablet is more attractive and charming for internet users and enjoy everywhere with your family and friends.


  19. Some people known as Nikon one V1 a conveyable DSLR the place you are able to just slip correct by way of your pocket but its shooting strength is identical as that
    of a DSLR. A montage specially edited for the occasion works best.
    s r CMOS sensor, BIONZ impression processor chip in addition to a Sony Grams contact with powerful (10x optical move,
    25-250 mm range) wide-angel mega-zoom (26 mm) help in choosing stunning golf swings quite possibly with low-light circumstances.

  20. that guy Says:

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you need to publish more on this subject matter, it may not be
    a taboo subject but usually people do not discuss such topics.

    To the next! Many thanks!!


  21. Hi there everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this web site, and piece of writing is in fact fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting these types of articles or reviews.


  22. Hi there very cool web site!! Guy .. Excellent .
    . Wonderful .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds
    also? I’m satisfied to seek out numerous helpful information right here within the put up, we want develop extra strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  23. source Says:

    Whoa! This blog looks exactly like my old one!
    It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Superb choice of colors!


  24. I would like to show my appreciation for your kind-heartedness for persons that need assistance with this study.
    Your personal commitment to passing the solution all-around became amazingly helpful and has allowed some
    individuals just like me to get to their aims. Your entire warm
    and friendly publication can mean a whole lot a person like
    me and much more to my fellow workers. Thank you; from everyone of us.


  25. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in
    your article seem to be running off the screen in Firefox.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The layout look great though! Hope you get the
    issue solved soon. Many thanks


  26. We stumbled over here different web page and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page again.


  27. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than
    just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and
    all. Nevertheless imagine if you added some great pictures or video
    clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is
    excellent but with pics and video clips, this blog could certainly be one of
    the greatest in its field. Very good blog!

  28. acne scars Says:

    Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to
    this blog before but after reading through some of the post
    I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I
    found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!


  29. Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular post!
    It’s the little changes which will make the most significant
    changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!


  30. This is very attention-grabbing, You’re an excessively professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look ahead to in search of more
    of your fantastic post. Additionally, I have shared
    your website in my social networks


  31. Howdy this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to know
    if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I
    wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly
    appreciated!


  32. I wanted to thank you for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it.
    I have got you bookmarked to look at new things you post…


  33. I blog quite often and I genuinely thank you for your information.
    Your article has truly peaked my interest.
    I am going to bookmark your blog and keep checking for new details about once a week.

    I subscribed to your Feed too.


  34. A person essentially assist to make seriously articles I might state.
    That is the very first time I frequented your website page and
    so far? I surprised with the analysis you made to create this actual put up incredible.
    Fantastic process!


  35. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this kind
    of space . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this website.
    Studying this info So i’m glad to express that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I found out
    exactly what I needed. I so much for sure will make certain to do not overlook this website and give it a glance regularly.


  36. Good post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this
    subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Thank you!


  37. Thanks for finally talking about >What happens when you
    combine school choice with bad teachers and staff?

    | Extra Credit <Liked it!


  38. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally,
    it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You clearly know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to
    your blog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?


  39. Hi, its nice piece of writing about media print, we all know media is a enormous source of facts.


  40. I know this site presents quality depending articles and additional information, is there any other web site which gives these kinds of things in quality?


Leave a Reply

